Thursday, August 31, 2006

Introduction

Hi! This is my attempt at a version of the Sims2 Legacy Challenge, only with a twist. If you play the Sims, you're probably familiar with the Legacy concept. You may have heard of some kind of "Get Rid of the Ugly" challenge - I think there are several out there. If you're lucky, you've also read the Uglacy legacy. (If not, you really should.) My plan is to combine all of these ideas.

I'm going to do two legacies, in a brand new neighborhood with none of the usual old townies and NPCs. One will start with a goodlooking founder, and I will try to make the generations progressively uglier. The other will start with a hideous founder, and my job will be to get rid of all the ugliness by the 10th generation. I'll be playing each legacy for one sim week, then the other for one week. Any families started by non-heirs will be squeezed in whenever I feel like it.

The heirs of each legacy are not allowed to marry or breed with anyone from the other family. The non-heirs can marry each other and produce freaky-looking children, if they want. Uh, I mean, if I want them to.

Starting out, I have three things I would like to do with my legacies. The first is obvious - make the ugly family pretty, and the pretty family ugly. The next is to go for all the points and bonuses I possibly can. The third - which may well turn out to be impossible, if I'm to do the first two - is to only pair up sims that have at least a decent amount of chemistry. Only the first is set in stone. The others may change down the line, if they interfere with my primary mission.

I have the University and Nightlife expansions, but not Open For Business or any of the booster packs. I play with some minor hacks/bugfixes, but nothing that makes it easier to progress in careers, maintain needs, make friends, or otherwise changes gameplay to make it easier in any way.

Oh, and when I'm facing important decisions, like who the founder is going to marry, and who's going to be the heir, I'll hold a vote. If enough people show an interest, I'll keep doing this every time it comes up.

My first week with the Beauregard founder should be up soon...

4 Comments:

Blogger SpongebobTanu said...

yay, let the non-heirs reign with their freaky looking children. lol.

this sounds cool, you are combining legacy, get rid of the ugly and prosperity! holy crap. i can't wait to read it. hope you post updates soon.

10:14 AM  
Blogger Lynnaea said...

Can't wait to read more and see how this challenge turns out. You should end up with some really, "special" looking sims.

3:37 PM  
Blogger ASimWen said...

Heh I see you are getting interested in Sim DNA..... *sigh* I love it.

4:31 PM  
Blogger Lia said...

Wow, interesting challenge.. I once had twins with the mailman (well, not me personally obviously, LOL)... the girl was really pretty, just like her mom, but her twin-brother... seemed like he had taken all of his dad's ugliness, multiplied it by ten and then.. well, you get the pic of what he looked like!

3:05 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home